Aleatoriamente * Randomly

Quando vou a uma livraria procurar um livro que não conheço, tenho de ler a primeira página do primeiro capítulo para confirmar se gosto da forma de escrita do autor.

Quando leio um livro e quero fazer uma pausa, só fecho o livro depois de chegar ao fim do capítulo em que estou.

Se acabo um livro e ainda tenho tempo para ler mais, não começo um livro depois. Como o tipo de escrita e de estrutura normalmente difere muito, fico com a sensação imediata de que o livro seguinte é muito melhor ou pior que o anterior. Para além disso, gosto de ficar a pensar sobre o livro que terminei.

Gosto de aproveitar boas oportunidades e pechinchas (obrigada alfarrabistas, bookmooch e afins), mas não há nada com um livro novinho em folha.

Só guardo os livros de que gosto. Se um livro não me agradou muito ou se não tem a ver comigo, dou ou vendo.

Gosto de pedir livros emprestados e, se gosto muito deles, compro-os mais tarde para mim.

*

When I go to a bookshop to look for unknown books, I read the first page of the first chapter to confirm that I like the way the author writes.

When I read a book and I want to take a break, I only close it after the end of the chapter I’m reading at the moment.

If I finish a book and I still have time to read a little more, I don’t start a new book after wards. As the type of writing and the structure usually differ a lot from one book to another, I get the feeling that the one I’d read next would be a lot better or a lot worse that the one I was reading before. Thus, I like to think for a while about the book I finished.

I like to take advantage of good opportunities and bargains (thank you second hand books resellers, bookmooch and such), but there is nothing like a brand new book.

I only keep the books I really like. If I didn’t find a book very amusing or if it is not my type of literature, I give it or sale it.

I like to borrow books. If i like them a lot I will buy them and keep them.